November babies are lucky enough to have two incredible birthstones, Topaz and Citrine. The yellow-gold color that is associated with November is displayed in both of the gemstones, and this is why November ends up with not one, but two birthstones! The two gemstones create the perfect combination, as topaz brings forth strength while citrine brings forth healing. With it’s glow and fiery intensity, topaz is believed to be associated with the Egyptian Sun God Ra.

 Although the two gemstones are associated with the same month, the two are virtually opposite in meaning. Unlike the intense topaz gemstone, citrine is known primarily for it’s amazing healing qualities. It is even referred to as the “Healing Quartz”. The two gemstones also have an incredibly similar appearance, but they are quite different in composition. Just because they look the same certainly does not mean they are the same! The two stones were assigned as the November birthstones for a reason. The qualities of the two match up so well, and leave November babies with some of the best characteristics possible.

FYI... if it's your 23rd anniversary, you are suppose to give the gift of an Imperial (Precious) Topaz. The name “imperial topaz” simply refers to topaz that can range from yellow to a deep golden color often likened to cognac. So while women can have their jewelry, perhaps men can be given a fine bottle of cognac to toast the 23rd anniversary.

As for Citrine, create a custom piece using this special gem for your 13th Anniversary.

Glossary of Jewelry Terms

KT: (Karat) refers to the fineness of gold: one karat is equal to 1/24th part of pure gold in an alloy.

18KTY: 18 Karat Yellow Gold
18KTW: 18 Karat White Gold
18KTR: 18 Karat Rose Gold
14KTY: 14 Karat Yellow Gold
14KTW: 14 Karat White Gold

14KTR: 14 Karat Rose Gold

CT: (Carat)  

CTW: (Total Carat Weight) The term refers to the sum of the weights of all diamonds mounted in a piece of jewelry.

SHANK: refers to the band of the ring or the part that actually encircles your finger. Most shanks are round, but there are also square shaped-shanks and other more creative shapes.

GIA : Gemological Institute of America; known as the leading authority for gemology internationally.

GIA Color Grading Scale: The GIA scale begins with the letter D, representing colorlessness, and continues with increasing presence of color to the letter Z, representing light yellow, light brown or light gray. The 23 color grades on the GIA Color Scale (or diamond color chart) are subdivided into five subcategories, which are: colorless (D-F); near colorless (G-J); faint (K-M); very light (N-R); and light (S-Z).

GIA Diamond Clarity Scale: The GIA Diamond Clarity Scale has 6 categories, some of which are divided, for a total of 11 specific grades.